Niger Tornadoes extend unbeaten run, beat MFM 1-0

By Andrew Randa

Niger Tornadoes continued their brilliant run in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) with a 1-0 win over Lagos side MFM FC on Sunday at the Bako Kontagora Stadium in Minna.

Abubakar Nyadebo scored from the penalty spot in the 13th minute to hand Tornadoes the three points and extend their unbeaten run in the league to nine games.

Tornadoes head coach Hamza Abara gave youngster Moses Ugwu who was plucked from non-league side Ijaya Rocks Football Club of Abuja his debut.

Ugwu did not disappoint as he put up a virtuoso performance to deservedly earn the man of the match award.

The home side started the brighter of the two sides as new signing Jonathan Osondu, Yahaya Yusuf and Abubakar Nyadebo all could have scored in the opening ten minutes but fluffed the chances that came
their way.

The early flurry will eventually pay off as Tornadoes were awarded a penalty kick in the 13th minute when Sikiru Olatunbosun handled in the box. Nyadebo made no mistake from the spot as he sent Nasumu Emmanuel the wrong way.

Debutant Ugwu was running the show in the midfield for the hosts and could have got a goal in the 39th minute if he had managed to keep shot low.

MFM did little to trouble Aliko Mustapha in goal for Tornadoes as their chances came far and few between though Julius Emiloju saw his shot go wide of Aliko’s post while Suleiman Abdullahi missed a glorious
chance to tie the game at halftime.

The MFM forward was through on goal with only Aliko to beat but somehow contrived to skew his shot wide when it could have been easier to score.

That was the closest the away side came to scoring in a game that saw very few chances in the second half with Tanko Awwal’s 52nd-minute effort the only attack of note.

A raft of changes by both sides in the latter stages of the game did little to change the outcome of the game as Tornadoes held firm for the three points to move up to second on the table behind Lobi Stars.


Niger Tornadoes: Mustapha Aliko; Tanko Awwal, Reuben Ogbonnaya, Husseini Isah, Andrew Ikefe, Austin Igenepo, Moses Ugwu, Yahaya Yusuf (Liman Amadu,) Abubakar Nyadebo ( Ismaila Sarki), Bolaji
Adeyemo, Osondu Jonathan (Bashar Usman)

Subs not used: Terkaa Melai; Iko James, Iliyasu Iskyaku

Cautions: Andrew Ikefe, Isah Hussaini

MFM FC: Nasamu Emmanuel; Okorom Stanley, Zikiye Jonathan, Opara Austine, Abisoye Olawale, Adesola Ademola, Julius Emiloju, Onuwa Chukwuka (Ekeocha Chukwudi), Olatunbosun Sikiru, Suleiman Abdullahi (Akinyemi Nojeem), Adebayo Waheed (Akuneto Chijioke)

Subs not used: Folarin Abayomi; Lanre Ferinyaro, Akanni Elijah, Balogun Azeez

Caution: Jonathan Zikiye

Man of the match: Moses Ugwu (Tornadoes)

Attendance: 4,100