Nasarawa, Pillars share points in Lafia

By Jubal Kanayochuqu

League leaders Nasarawa United pulled out all the stops on Sunday to stop Kano Pillars from claiming all three points on offer, as Adamu Hassan’s 82nd minute strike cancelled out Nyima Nwagua’s 46th minute poke.

It was one of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) Matchday 3 fixtured between the two sides in Lafia on Sunday.

Nyima had replaced Ebuka David in the 46th minute and, two minutes after he came on, he had the quickest foot during a goal-mouth scramble in front of the hosts’ goal and poked the ball home beyond Nasarawa goalkeeper, Umar.

King Osanga, another substitute, changed the game for the hosts, when he started running rings around the Pillars’ defense and swinging in crosses from the far right, giving them a lot to do.

His rampant runs finally paid off when, in the 82nd minute, he curved past his marker, swung in a cross, with former Pillars’ man, Adamu Hassan, rising highest to meet it and bury it in the net.

Pillars endured a lethargic start to the game and were fortunate not to have conceded early in the 10th minute when Ikenna Offor had only the goalkeeper to beat but could not put some power behind his shot. A glad Idris scooped it up.

Pillars had to wait till the 27th minute, before Auwali Ali let off a shot which was easily handled by Umar.

Next up was Chike Ike, who ran rings one too many times around the Solid Miners’ defence, only to be thwarted repeatedly.

In the 82nd minute, Adamu Hassan, rose highest to meet David Ehiaghe’s cross and nodded it past the Pillars’ goal-tender, to draw his side level.

Man of the Match Osanga, continued to do damage with his pace and in the 1st minute of added time, he nearly connected with a finely positioned Ehiaghe but the cross was nodded to safety by Pillars’ Abubakar Abdullahi.

Seconds before the final whistle, Osanga missed another opportunity to help his side claim the three points when, through on goal, he took aim, only to see his effort bounce off the woodwork.


Nasarawa United

Danlami Umar 12, Abubakar Abdullahi 6, Reuben Nicodemus 24, Abdulrazaq Sadiq 28, Uzochukwu Chigozie 39, Franklin Tebo 21, Aliyu Abdullahi 26

Victor Okoro 17 (59’ Haggai Katoh), Chinedu Ohanachom 19 (59’ Adamu Hassan), Silas Nwankwo 31 (80’ Ehiaghe David), Ikenna Offor 36


Galadima Mohmamed 1, Emeka Onyema 41, Ibrahim Matthew 27, Haggai Katoh 10, Adamu Hassan 11, Ehiaghe David 42, King Osanga 14, Chukwuebuka Anaekwe 29, Dauda Maigishiri 14

Kano Pillars

Idris Ibrahim 1, Victor Dennis 27, Fahad Usman 30, Jerome Hechong 32, Ndasi Denis Kadiang 2, Auwalu Ali Malam 17 (48’ Abbas Rabi’u), Chinedu Ike 4, Umar Hassan 38, Yusuf Bala Maigoro 31, Rabiu Ali 10 (64’ Bright Silas), David Ebuka 24 (47’ Nwagua Nyima)


Suraj Ayeleso 23, Abdullahi Musa 5, Mukaila Musa 6, Abbas Rabi’u 33, Mustapha Salisu 8, Nwagua Nyima 28, Bright Silas 16