MFM FC ends Niger Tornadoes unbeaten run in 3-0 victory

By Idowu Bakare

Niger Tornadoes’ nine-game unbeaten run was put to an end, as MFM FC cruised to a 3-0 win in a Matchday 20 game of the 2018 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) on Sunday.

The home team took control of the game in the early minutes as, Sikiru Olatunbosun fired a shot past Terkaa Melai in goal for Tornadoes after combining well with Onuwa Chukwuka from a corner kick, to put the Olukoya Boys ahead.

MFM FC nearly got the second goal in the 17th minute with a chance from Waheed Adebayo, but his shot was calmly saved by Melai.

Olatunbosun soon completed his brace after slotting home a rebound from Lawal Oriyomi’s powerful shot from the edge of the box and the Niger Tornadoes defence were found wanting.

Second half substitute, Chijioke Akuneto completed the scoring after firing a shot into the far corner from a Waheed Adebayo assist on a counter attack.

Niger Tornadoes head coach, Hamza Abara said the reason for the huge defeat was not far fetched as most of his key players left the team for other teams during the mid-season transfer window.

“Maybe the loss of our key players affected the team, as you can see we have new players who are not really accustomed to the team’s style. We will go back to the drawing board to repeat the first round performances,” Hamza said after the game.

Niger Tornadoes will return home to face their former coach, Abubakar Bala, who is now in charge of relegation-threatened side Kwara United. MFM FC will face Yobe Stars in a rescheduled game in midweek before welcoming Abia Warriors to Lagos for a Matchday 21 game.


MFM FC: Folarin Abayomi (Nasamu Emmanuel); Okorom Stanley, Lawal Oriyomi, Opara Austine, Abisoye Olawale, Adeshola Ademola, Julius Emiloju, Onuwa Chukwuka, Akinyem Nojeem (Chijioke Akuneto), Olatunbosun Sikiru (Akanni Elijah), Adebayo Waheed

Coach: Fidelis Ilechukwu

Niger Tornadoes: Terkaa Melai; Jumbo Wisdom, Amar Abdulkarim (Liman Ahmadu), Zango Abdulkadir, Reuben Ogbonnaya, Austine Igenepo, Ugwu Moses, Tanko Auwal (Abubakar Nyadebo), Osondu Jonathan, Bolaji Adeyemo, Yahaya Yusuf (Mustapha Jibrin)

Coach: Hamza Abara