Kwara United in late rally to pip FC IfeanyiUbah

Olawale Farayola scored a late goal to hand Kwara United a 1-0 victory over FC IfeanyiUbah in one of Sunday’s Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) Matchday 6 fixtures.

The Afonja Warriors were looking for back-to-back wins at the Kwara State Sports Complex having defeated Enyimba at the same ground on Wednesday.

FC IfeanyiUbah had gone into the game without a win in their previous four matches and looked good for a draw until Farayola, who had come off the bench, netted in the 86th minute to earn the home side maximum points.

Kwara United head coach Abdullahi Biffo made two changes to the starting eleven that recorded the said victory over Enyimba. Afeez Nosir took the place of Ufere Chinedu while Chizom Samuel was handed a debut appearance from the start at the expense of Farayola.

FC IfeanyiUbah head coach, Uche Okagbue also tinkered with three changes to his team that started against Abia Warriors last week.

Tilted first half

Kwara United started the game with intensity, seeking to net an early goal like they did in the win over Enyimba four days earlier. However, Samuel, who had time and space, failed to hit the target from close range after being found by Aliyu Mohammed’s cross in the 15th minute.

The Afonja Warriors continued their dominance with a large share of possession and were poised for a due reward but no teammate could apply a finish to Taiwo Salaudeen’s cross that crawled through the face of goal. Samuel picked the ball afterwards to draw a save from FC IfeanyiUbah goalkeeper Sharp Uzoigwe, who was forced to another stop from Kalu Nweke’s pile driver seconds later.

FC Ifeanyiubah eventually had their first real chance of the game four minutes before half time when a counter attack ended with Abdulrasheed Umar’s shot ricocheting off a defender for a corner kick. That proved to be the last significant action of the first half as both teams went into the tunnel tied.

Rewarding second half

The second half started with reduced intensity as chances came in few and far between. However, Dele Aiyenugba stepped up at the vital moment for Kwara United as the former Enyimba goalkeeper rushed off his line and made himself big to deny Ekene Awazie’s goal-bound effort. Uzoigwe responded with another brilliant save for FC IfeanyiUbah to deny Jide Williams from close range.

However, Uzoigwe was eventually beaten four minutes from time when Jide Fatokun fed a pass to Farayola whose deft touch sent the ball beyond the reach of FC IfeanyiUbah’s goaltender. The goal earned Kwara United their third win of the season while the visitors left Ilorin still without a goal nor a point for the fourth time in their NPFL history.

Dele Aiyenugba 1, Taiwo Salaudeen 20, Aliyu Mohammed 32 (Lawal 62′), Jide Williams 31, Christopher Nwaeze 26, Jide Fatokun 28, Stephen Jude 21 (Gata 62′), Afeez Nosir 4, Michael Ohanu 19 (Ufere 75′), Kalu Nweke 11 (Adeniji 75′), Chizom Samuel 37 (Farayola 49′

Abdullateef Ishola 34, Muri Lawal 24, Bashir Monsur 5, Issa Gata 18, Abdulraheem Shola 38, Olawale Farayola 33, Ufere Chinedu 6, Wasiu Alalade 17, Adeniji Kabir 16

GOAL: Olawale Farayola 86′

YELLOW CARD: Michael Ohanu 66′

Sharp Uzoigwe 21, Eric Oguocha 2, Evans Ogbonna 19, Tochukwu Anueyiagu 35, Abel James 6, Abdulrasheed Umar 5 (Ifejiofor 48′), Christian Molokwu 26 (Sodiq 79′), Maxwell Ijioma 17 (Nonso 48′), Samuel Matthew 36, Ekene Awazie 10, Simon Umah 4

Abuchi Okeke 31, John Tseka 3, Nonso Nzediegwu 7, Uzochukwu Ifejiofor 20, Anayo Chukwujekwu 29, Saidu Adamu 15, Sodiq Abdullahi 12


YELLOW CARD: Christian Molokwu 66, Sharp Uzoigwe 78′