Katsina United pound FC IfeanyiUbah 3-0

By Uchenna Iyoke

Rampant Katsina United brushed aside visiting FC Ifeanyiubah 3-0 in a one sided Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) MatchDay 31 fixture decided at the Muhammadu Dikko Stadium.

Samuel Kalu bagged his brace within the space of six minutes and shunned celebration as a sign of respect to his former employers.

Kalu headed in the first goal off an Atule Joseph’s cross on 24 minutes and doubled the lead from close range with an assist from Faisal Sani.

Atule Joseph completed the routing ten minutes before the break and it was Samuel Nnoshiri who aided him to ensure a fine finish.

The win makes it three in a row for Katsina United, a feat they achieved for the first time since the start of the on-going season.

Katsina United had defeated leaders, Akwa United 1-0 and proceeded to pick maximum points away to Jigawa Golden Stars prior to this home win.

FC Ifeanyiubah made very little impact in the game as their only real chances came off the foot of Uzochukwu Ifejiofor, a woodwork and hot shot saved by Goalkeeper Daouda Kassaly.

The host team settled down playing to the gallery with assurances that three points was already in the bag.

Katsina United moved up to 13th position with 40 points from 31 rounds of matches.

The Anambra Warriors remained 17th in the danger zone, having amassed 31 points.

FC Ifeanyiubah will next host Nasarawa United as Katsina United travels to Lagos for a date with MFM FC next Sunday.

Man Of The Match: Samuel Kalu

Caution: Frank Kappe (Katsina United )

Katsina United Team List
Daouda Kassaly GK 21, Frank Kappe 22, Faisal Sani 31, Mansoor Aliyu 2, Habibu Yakubu 5, Souley Muhammadou 6, Samuel Kalu 17, Usman Barau 4 (C), Mahmud Abdulwasiu 7, Samuel Nnoshiri 11, Atule Joseph 25.

Subs Used: Ayo Adetola 34, OlayinkaYusuf 23, Rasheed Ahmed 20, Abdulkarim Ahmed 20, Yushau Garba 16.

Unused Subs: Ogar Ajima 33 (GK) Boubacar Massaly 19.

FC Ifeanyiubah Team List
Sharp Uzoigwe 21 GK, Femi Emmanuel 30, Evans Ogbonda 19, Abel James 6, Patrick Egeonu 13, Samuel Mathew 36, Simeon Umeh 4, Nonso Nzediegwu 7, Christian Molokwu 26, Saidu Adamu 15, Solomon Ovedje 32.

Subs Used John Tsekaa 3, Chidiogo Muoebonam 40, Ekene Awazie 10, Eric Oguocha 2.Uzochukwu Ifejiofor 20,.

Chigozie Akabuike 31 GK, Chukwuebuka Okafor 33.

Venue: Muhammadu Dikko Stadium, Katsina.

Referee: Murtala A.