Kano Pillars, Lobi, MFM, Sunshine, others for pre-season Gold Cup tourney

CAF Champions League flagbearers Lobi Stars, Kano Pillars, MFM FC and Sunshine Stars are among 10 teams that will participate in the 6th edition of the Gold Cup Pre-season Tournament.

The General Coordinator of Gold Cup Tourney, Tunde Shamsudeen revealed the other teams as Phoenix CF, Kwara United, Cynosure FC, Remo Stars, Rivers United and FC Ebedei before the tourney’s draw was conducted at the weekend.

Kano Pillars who are defending champions are drawn in Group A alongside two debutants Phoenix and Cynosure FC. Kwara United and Remo Stars make up the five teams.

Lobi Stars and Mountain of Fire and Miracles Ministries (MFM) FC who were crowned champions and runners-up in 2016 respectively, will have their hands full against Sunshine Stars, FC Ebedei and Rivers United.

One of the country’s best organised pre-season mini league will be held in Ado Ekiti, capital of Ekiti State from Thursday, November 15 to Saturday, November 24, 2018.

Group A
Kano Pillars
Kwara United
Rivers United
Remo Stars

Group B
Lobi Stars
Cynosure FC
Sunshine Stars
FC Ebedei