Enyimba cruise past Sunshine Stars in commanding performance

By Promise Etim

Enyimba on Sunday demolished Sunshine Stars 3-0 in a Matchday 24 of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL).

The encounter at the Enyimba International Stadium saw the hosts start brightly with Martins Usule breaking free as early as the third minute firing a left-footed shot that was parried away by Olorunleke Ojo in goal for Sunshine Stars.

The pressure continued as Ojo again denied Usule who displaced his marker neatly in the seventh minute.

Ojo made a third consecutive save in the ninth minute, this time it was Anayo Iwuala who failed to find the back of the net after being teed up by Stanley Dimgba.

The breakthrough finally came for Enyimba in the 12th minute with Cyril Olisema delivering an immaculate corner kick which was headed in by Martins Usule with Ojo beaten for the first time.

Enyimba’s dominance continued as they dictated play while the visitors tackled hard. Ikenna Hillary got the first yellow card of the game for a foul on Anayo Iwuala in the 23rd minute.

The visitors’ first threat came in the 44th minute when Sadeeq Yusuf got past his marker and released a shot from 15 yards only to be denied by Theophilus Afelokhai to keep Enyimba’s 1-0 lead intact at halftime.

On resumption, the hosts pressed harder as the visitors struggled. Substitute Fuad Ekelojuoti made it four yellows for Sunshine after bringing down Dayo Ojo.

Enyimba increased their tally in the 59th minute as Cyril Olisema recorded his second assist in the game and ninth for the season linking up beautifully with Stanley Dimgba who made a solo run into the box before firing a left-footed shot into the net to make it 2-0.

Dayo Ojo almost added a third from a free-kick but Olorunleke Ojo saved yet again in the 63rd minute.

The game was put to bed in two minutes of added time when Dare Olatunji tapped in the rebound from Jean-Marie Guera’s strike that hit the woodwork after being punched away by Sunshine’s goalkeeper, to earn Enyimba a big win.


Enyimba: Afelokhai, Manyo, Ampiah, Olatunji, Anaemena, Adebayo, Iwuala, Ojo, Usule, Olisema, Dimgba

Sunshine Stars: Olorunleke, Ebuka, Seun, Hilary, Akpojuwevwo, Akande, Sadeeq, Quazeem, Adebayo, Jide, Oluwatoyin

Match Stats
Enyimba 3-0 Sunshine Stars
Corners 4-0
Shots 11-3
On Target 8-1
Fouls 20-16
Yellow 3-0
Red 0-0
Saves 1-5
Offsides 7-2