Draw with Akwa United extends Sunshine Stars Winless Run

On a cloudy Saturday evening in Lagos, Sunshine stars in their adopted home ground, the Agege Soccer Temple Failed to shine against Akwa United.

It’s the 12th game on a bounce that the Coach Gbenga Ogunbote side will fail to register a win.

Ayo Adejubu and Mfon Udoh had early chances to score but failed. Adejubu had the first shot on target in the game while Mfon Udoh also had a close chance in the 6th minute.

Sunshine had the better part of the possession up until the 20th minute when the pendulum swung Akwa United way but they also could not find the back of the net.

Mfon Udoh would have broken the deadlock in the 42nd minute but he missed a sitter after Dare Ojo cleared Tope Akande’s header off the line at the other end.

Sunshine still could have had their nose in front with a great chance from Waheed Adebayo but the sleek winger steered his shot wide after good hold-up play by Sadeeq Yusuf.

At the half hour mark, the league’s leading scorer this season , Sadeeq Yusuf thought he had broken the deadlock for the Akure side, but his effort was ruled out for offside.

The second half started the way the first ended, an end to end stuff all through,but efforts from the two sides were kept at bay.

Jide Jimoh would have delivered all maximum points for Gbenga Ogunbote, but he missed his attempt with only the net left to beat.

Three minutes were added to the regulation time, but none of the sides got a breakthrough and they had to settle for a draw.

Sunshine remain winless in 12 games, Akwa united gathered one more point for their title challenge.

Sunshine Stars Team

23 Uche Okafor GK,
3 Isiaka Oladuntoye, 9 Sadeeq Yusuf, 10 Sunday Abe (C), 12 Kehinde Adeyemi,17 Waheed Adebayo, 26 Ewelike Edozie, 28 Fredrick Obomate, 31 Tope Akande, 36 Ayo Adejubu (11 Biodun Joseph 25′), 38 Odumosu Bayo (34 Jide Jimoh 56′)

Subs not used
21.Suleiman Salihu, 2 Emmanuel James, 4 Habib Yakub, 5 Olatunde Abisoye, 19 Chinedu Udechukwu, 24 Ayo Akinlose

Coach: Gbenga Ogunbote

Akwa United Team

1 Adewale Adeyinka, 4 Etim Mathew, 3 David Philip, 20 Dare Ojo, 5 Sampson Gbadebo, 6 Charles Okafor, 30 Mfon Udoh (9 Yakubu Adams 68′), 26 Ikechukwu Nwani(27 Ubong Essien 80′), 21 Ndifereke Effiong (C),19 Seth Mayi (7 Ubong Friday 68′)
17 Nasiru Jibril (13 Charles Atishimene 80)

Subs not used
22 Bassey Akpan
31 Kodjovi Dadzie
35 Hamisu Sale
10 Akarandut Orok

Coach: Kennedy Boboye