Dakkada coach Umar Danlami hopeful of staying up

After drubbing Enyimba 2-0 in Aba, Dakkada head coach Umar Danlami says his side remains hopeful of avoiding relegation to the lower division.

Enyimba, came into the match still hopeful of a possible continental spot were beaten by a more determined Dakkada side in the MatchDay 37 encounter played at the Enyimba Stadium, Aba on Sunday.

After a goalless first half, Dakkada went in front in the 56th minute when centre back Arise Ogundare rifled home from close range after the Enyimba defence failed to clear a corner kick.

With the game drawing to a close, in-form attacker Edidiong Ezekiel headed home beautifully from Uwana Asuquo’s cross in stoppage time to seal an unquantifiable win for his side.

The victory was Dakkada’s first away win of the season and their first since June last year. Danlami says it was a result his side came to Aba earn.

“It’s a mixed feeling,” the former Kada City coach told www.npfl.ng when asked how the feeling was.

“I know definitely we came here to pull out something and it came our way so we thank God. It’s been a very difficult season but the boys were able to keep their heads down to produce such an important result.”

Dakkada still have a realistic chance of beating the drop but must earn it on the final day with a good win over Sunshine Stars while also hoping that results from other grounds favour them.

Danlami says his side must give it their all.

“We need to approach our last match with all we’ve got. I think, hopefully, with the way things are going now, the boys will do well.

“It is football anyway, sometimes, what you hear is not what it is but anybody that knows Dakkada knows that we play good football since way back but this has happened and we’re trying to come back and there is still hope of escape,” he added.

Match Lineups


12. Olorunleke Ojo 32. Bilal Yakubu 2. Emmanuel Ampiah 24. Fatai Abdullahi 23. Adekunle Adeleke 28. Abel James
13. Sadiq Abubakar 26. Austin Oladapo
7. Christian Ekong 11. Valentine Obilor
14. Samuel Kalu


1. John Noble 6. Nabil Yarou 15. Daniel Ngozi Ijeh 20. Cyril Chinedu Olisema 27. Farouk Mohammed 29. Imoh Obot Udoh
30. Ekene Kennedy Awazie 37. Eze Happy Ekwutoziam 38. Emmanuel Godwin


33. Loveday Anugbuo 25. Uwana Asuquo 24. Samuel Akpan 34. Emmanuel Charles 4. Karim Abdoulaye 29. Arise Ogundare 40. Emmanuel Ayaosi 15. Bolaji Michael 10. Aniekan Ekpe 14. Edidiong Ezekiel 8. Israel Emmanuel


13. Omokhudu Thomas 2. Ibukun Harrison 19. Ajong Pederson 26. Adewale Lasisi 32. Muritala Lawal 35. Israel Sunday 39. Mmekut Mfon Udosen

Leave a comment